News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/19/2018 10:21:42 PM to 9/19/2018 10:27:00 PM.

News Flash

Home - News & Announcements

Posted on: September 19, 2018

[ARCHIVED] Yuma County Sheriff Leon Wilmot was elected Chairman of the Southwestern Border Sheriff’s Coalition

Sheriff Leon Wilmot

On September 15, 2018, Yuma County Sheriff Leon N. Wilmot was elected Chairman of the Southwestern Border Sheriff’s Coalition (SWBSC) by the membership during their Annual Fall meeting which was held in El Paso, Texas. Following is the complete list of newly elected SWBSC officers who will serve a two-year term through September 2020:

Chairman                   Sheriff Leon Wilmot, Yuma County, AZ

1st Vice Chairman     Sheriff Cliff Harris, Pecos County, TX

Secretary                    Sheriff Enrique Vigil, Dona Ana County, NM

Treasurer                  Sheriff Eusevio Salinas, Zavala County, TX

Director                      Sheriff Raymond Loera, Imperial County, CA

Director (PC)             Sheriff Joe Frank Martinez, Val Verde County, TX

The Southwestern Border Sheriff’s Coalition was established in 2007 to assist Sheriffs from Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, and California whose counties are situated within 25 miles of the United States and Mexico international boundary.  The SWBSC assists the 31 County Sheriffs with the protection of lives, property and the rights of the citizens and inhabitants; to maintain order and public safety along the United States/Mexico border; to enforce laws impartially; and to provide police services in partnership with other law enforcement agencies, organizations, and community partners.

Sheriff Wilmot commented, “I have been a member of the Southwestern Border Sheriff’s Coalition since it was established in 2007 and have been engaged with these fine Sheriffs serving along the United States and Mexico border for many years. It is truly an honor and a privilege to be elected to represent them and be the voice of the 31 Border Sheriffs.”

Facebook Twitter Email